RPGM Things to keep in mind and resources I need to Start developing a new game.

Mukesh12349

Oct 22, 2018
Hello Devs,

I have been planning to build a game for quite some time and I would really like some advice as I'm an absolute beginner. Dos and don'ts for the development process etc.

I will try and categorise my doubts and queries as simply as possible below.

• How do you plan before starting the actual work using an engine? If you do plan, how long do you spend in the pre-production process? I mean do you start the work after deciding the flow of an arc or do you plan the entire story and then get to work?

• I'm planning to use RPG Maker MV. Will this be an ideal tool, given that lower versions of the engine are richer in assets? I also learnt, after a bit of messing around with the engine, that MV gives you real time preview. Is this option available for lower versions? If no, is there a way to get around it with or without using plugins?

• How complex is it to have a battle animation like the OneOne1 games? Is there any external plugin for achieving that or can be done by using the in built functions?
I realise that the list is too small, but these are my current concerns and would really appreciate any help from you guys.

Thank you.

Last edited:

Madmanator99

May 1, 2018
Hey there,

I've never used RPGM, but I can give you my opinion about the first point, and I have done so in many other threads. I personnally think that the preproduction is one of the most important steps, as it will give you a reference to go back to for when you are deep into coding and things get fogotten/mixed up.
The way I prepare is by writting down the main quests, npcs, encounters, interactions, game systems, etc, that I want in the game in text files (or notebooks). They don't have to be fully developed, but at least the main steps/components of each.
As for how long, that depends on how many features you want your game to have.