Mar 23, 2022
300
75
Why is the north roads array being killed after each use? Wouldn't it be better to keep it active until you leave the north roads? It's fine that it is it's just weird to me.
1. My concern is that too many instances of slaves will exist and cause crashes and bugs, like what happens with Evil 1/2 and how they handle slavery.

The sewers can be upgraded to higher than three if you can fabricate a better system, but the camp should remain low as too many slaves will alert the guards/paladins that patrol the northern road.

2. The named followers would be a bit of a problem in kidnapping for various reasons. Most of your allies are powerful beings that follow you because you're family or do good deeds.

You don't have permission to view the spoiler content. Log in or register now.

I'm fine with things if they fit the theme I've gone for with the characters.
1. If it's handled correctly it shouldn't be an issue until the player hase millions maybe billions. You'd have to have it so they aren't running in the code while you're not looking at them. Although in saying that I think a cap should be put in place. You don't need thousands of people locked up doing nothing/popping out babies.

2. Yeah, with that I think followers should be seperate. Too many things either make it impossible or too individual to fit into what I'm doing, not surprised.
 

KaitoKuro

Newbie
Sep 15, 2020
34
4
Why is the north roads array being killed after each use? Wouldn't it be better to keep it active until you leave the north roads? It's fine that it is it's just weird to me.

1. If it's handled correctly it shouldn't be an issue until the player hase millions maybe billions. You'd have to have it so they aren't running in the code while you're not looking at them. Although in saying that I think a cap should be put in place. You don't need thousands of people locked up doing nothing/popping out babies.

2. Yeah, with that I think followers should be seperate. Too many things either make it impossible or too individual to fit into what I'm doing, not surprised.
From what I can understand, each time that - northroadevents - gets called it'll add strings to the newly created $northroadSArray but if it's not killed after it's use then each time that location is called it'll extend the already existing array continuously. Worse case is it'll end up causing an error on the long run and slow down the process of running that location. There's also that the location can't remove strings whose conditions aren't true anymore.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Throw_AwayPower
Mar 23, 2022
300
75
From what I can understand, each time that - northroadevents - gets called it'll add strings to the newly created $northroadSArray but if it's not killed after it's use then each time that location is called it'll extend the already existing array continuously. Worse case is it'll end up causing an error on the long run and slow down the process of running that location. There's also that the location can't remove strings whose conditions aren't true anymore.
Oh yeah, it's adding to the array not calling from it. I did not notice that, I'm such a smooth brain somethimes. Oh well, another thing to break touch inappropriately.... er I mean totally consentionally. Cheers for the clarification.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KaitoKuro
Mar 23, 2022
300
75
Before you ask yes I am a slow typer. Now onto what I've been wasting my time on;

You don't have permission to view the spoiler content. Log in or register now.

Using the Array that exists for the north roads I "quickly" threw this together. Yes it's messy but it should cover any potential road ally. You'd just need to add to the list. Also I might have wrote it wrong. Set might not be needed, I've recently used Twine where you need to type set. Actually thinking about it I forgot taking slaves from stocks. I'll fix it later. Also if you put it in it shouldn't do anything but I wouldn't just incase. It might mess with already existing $RoadAlly. But it definitly will break something I don't trust myself.

Edit: wait does just "else:" work?
 

KaitoKuro

Newbie
Sep 15, 2020
34
4
Before you ask yes I am a slow typer. Now onto what I've been wasting my time on;

You don't have permission to view the spoiler content. Log in or register now.

Using the Array that exists for the north roads I "quickly" threw this together. Yes it's messy but it should cover any potential road ally. You'd just need to add to the list. Also I might have wrote it wrong. Set might not be needed, I've recently used Twine where you need to type set. Actually thinking about it I forgot taking slaves from stocks. I'll fix it later. Also if you put it in it shouldn't do anything but I wouldn't just incase. It might mess with already existing $RoadAlly. But it definitly will break something I don't trust myself.

Edit: wait does just "else:" work?
There's a few things that I think might cause an issue so currently working on a test for it. As for the "else:" yes it does work just fine.

Edit: The other condition on each of the if/elseif statements must also have operations (an = in this case). On the other hand, instead of using $northroadSArray[], use $northroadSRNG as the array gets killed and the variable stays to be used after given it's string value.
 
Last edited:
Mar 23, 2022
300
75
There's a few things that I think might cause an issue so currently working on a test for it. As for the "else:" yes it does work just fine.

Edit: The other condition on each of the if/elseif statements must also have operations (an = in this case). On the other hand, instead of using $northroadSArray[], use $northroadSRNG as the array gets killed and the variable stays to be used after given it's string value.
So you mean something like
Code:
if $northroadSArray[]="femaleadventurers" or ="farmersavedon":
Also I was considering making it so that $northroadSArray doesen't get killed on each use and instead making it so that the array is called upon instead.
Code:
if $northroadSArray rand (0,1)=1:
!or possibly if the engine allows it if $northroadSArray rand (0,1)="guardssouth"
    $RoadAlly='group of guards heading south'
    cla
    *clr
    '<center><img <<$set_imgh>> src="images/enemy/guards/guards.jpg"></center>'
    *nl
    if FortSlut>20:
        'The soldiers recognize you from your slutty reputation, making comments asking if you`d like to service them in the forest nearby.'&*nl
        gs 'hooking'
    end
    'The guards say they are heading south to Avedon if you want to join, but they won`t wait up on you.'
        act 'Leave them alone':
            minut+=5
            gt $locP
        end
    if infestation>=5:
        cla
        *clr
        '<center><img <<$set_imgh>> src="images/enemy/guards/guards.jpg"></center>'
        *nl
        'It is difficult to hide how infested you are with tentacles, and the once friendly smiles of the guards fade as they realize What You Are.'
        *nl
        'They draw swords and other weapons, calling for you to stop fighting and just die.'
            act 'Defend yourself':
                experience+=10
                adventurertimer+=rand(2, 5)
                gt 'fightguards', '2'
            end
    end
else: cry
end
Obviously the second one isn't properly changed to do this but you should get the idea I hope. Unless that's just not feasible in which case sure I'll swap it to $northroadSRNG
 

KaitoKuro

Newbie
Sep 15, 2020
34
4
Hmm we're gonna have issues with the Git due to merging errors, as Throw_AwayPower mentioned. I'll be using my fork as to host an Unofficial branch that will mostly focus on bug fixes so just ask to get invited to the team after making an account. Do test the fixes before editing the vincidio file if available.

For experimental builds that are trying new features and such, I've added a experimental branch were you can add your own file and work on it there. Will it get merged to the Unofficial? No but it'll be more of a showcase in case it might, maybe, or possibly get Snekk's attention and get added.

I'll be trying some stuff to make it possible to use the gitlab's web IDE or text editor rather than replacing the file over and over.
Unofficial:
Experimental:
 

KaitoKuro

Newbie
Sep 15, 2020
34
4
So you mean something like
Code:
if $northroadSArray[]="femaleadventurers" or ="farmersavedon":
Also I was considering making it so that $northroadSArray doesen't get killed on each use and instead making it so that the array is called upon instead.
Code:
if $northroadSArray rand (0,1)=1:
!or possibly if the engine allows it if $northroadSArray rand (0,1)="guardssouth"
    $RoadAlly='group of guards heading south'
    cla
    *clr
    '<center><img <<$set_imgh>> src="images/enemy/guards/guards.jpg"></center>'
    *nl
    if FortSlut>20:
        'The soldiers recognize you from your slutty reputation, making comments asking if you`d like to service them in the forest nearby.'&*nl
        gs 'hooking'
    end
    'The guards say they are heading south to Avedon if you want to join, but they won`t wait up on you.'
        act 'Leave them alone':
            minut+=5
            gt $locP
        end
    if infestation>=5:
        cla
        *clr
        '<center><img <<$set_imgh>> src="images/enemy/guards/guards.jpg"></center>'
        *nl
        'It is difficult to hide how infested you are with tentacles, and the once friendly smiles of the guards fade as they realize What You Are.'
        *nl
        'They draw swords and other weapons, calling for you to stop fighting and just die.'
            act 'Defend yourself':
                experience+=10
                adventurertimer+=rand(2, 5)
                gt 'fightguards', '2'
            end
    end
else: cry
end
Obviously the second one isn't properly changed to do this but you should get the idea I hope. Unless that's just not feasible in which case sure I'll swap it to $northroadSRNG
1) The ="farmersavedon" need to be $northroadSArray[]="farmersavedon" as well, there's possibly a call to make it work but I haven't gotten to look into that into the document.

2) I'm not sure I get what's happening at the beginning lines, but the rest after seems fine except the sad cry. Felt that from here. Are you perhaps trying to have rand(0,1)=1 as the index of the array or it an additional condition?
 

Solid Snekk

Well-Known Member
Game Developer
May 5, 2017
1,032
1,120
Hmm we're gonna have issues with the Git due to merging errors, as Throw_AwayPower mentioned. I'll be using my fork as to host an Unofficial branch that will mostly focus on bug fixes so just ask to get invited to the team after making an account. Do test the fixes before editing the vincidio file if available.

For experimental builds that are trying new features and such, I've added a experimental branch were you can add your own file and work on it there. Will it get merged to the Unofficial? No but it'll be more of a showcase in case it might, maybe, or possibly get Snekk's attention and get added.

I'll be trying some stuff to make it possible to use the gitlab's web IDE or text editor rather than replacing the file over and over.
Unofficial:
Experimental:
I have the snekkbuild up which is where I'm going to upload whatever active build I'm working on along with the changelog of my edits. Not sure how close the parallel play is going to be with edits but I'll try to keep my focus on specific events on an update so I don't break everyone else's projects.

For the bugfixes I'll probably just manually add them to my current build with WinMerge until we sort that out. Took like 20 minutes to go through, mostly because I changed FoxQuest to foxquest and there was a lot of references to it.

As for new content, what do you think would be the best place to host the images so that people can add new scenes?
 
Mar 23, 2022
300
75
1) Ah, fair ehough. I'd assume it was different where I can call upon the place in the array by varible name. While also doing it multiple times. actually maybe try is

Code:
if $northroadSArray[]="femaleadventurers, farmersavedon":
see if that can pull either of them.

2)I was trying to draw from the index at the start. It would replace the need to kill the array each time because the array wouldn't need to be added to often, only called upon. I might have confused it/you by trying to draw from it by name AND index number. If name works then that could make it easier for others. At least that was my thought.

in twine both these statments work are the same statement.

Code:
set $northroadSArray[]='Steve'
set $northroadSArray[]='Gary'

if $northroadSArray[] rand (0,1)=1:
and
Code:
set $northroadSArray[]='Steve'
set $northroadSArray[]='Gary'

if $northroadSArray[] rand (0,1)='Gary':
What I'm considering is going through ALL of the north road events and changing it from $northroadSRNG to $northroadSArray[]

For example

Code:
if $northroadSRNG="guardssouth":
    $RoadAlly='group of guards heading south'
    cla
    *clr
    '<center><img <<$set_imgh>> src="images/enemy/guards/guards.jpg"></center>'
    *nl
    if FortSlut>20:
        'The soldiers recognize you from your slutty reputation, making comments asking if you`d like to service them in the forest nearby.'&*nl
        gs 'hooking'
    end
    'The guards say they are heading south to Avedon if you want to join, but they won`t wait up on you.'
        act 'Leave them alone':
            minut+=5
            gt $locP
        end
    if infestation>=5:
        cla
        *clr
        '<center><img <<$set_imgh>> src="images/enemy/guards/guards.jpg"></center>'
        *nl
        'It is difficult to hide how infested you are with tentacles, and the once friendly smiles of the guards fade as they realize What You Are.'
        *nl
        'They draw swords and other weapons, calling for you to stop fighting and just die.'
            act 'Defend yourself':
                experience+=10
                adventurertimer+=rand(2, 5)
                gt 'fightguards', '2'
            end
    end
end
would become
Code:
if $northroadSArray rand(0,11)=1:
    gs 'RoadAlly'
    cla
    *clr
    '<center><img <<$set_imgh>> src="images/enemy/guards/guards.jpg"></center>'
    *nl
    if FortSlut>20:
        'The soldiers recognize you from your slutty reputation, making comments asking if you`d like to service them in the forest nearby.'&*nl
        gs 'hooking'
    end
    'The guards say they are heading south to Avedon if you want to join, but they won`t wait up on you.'
        act 'Leave them alone':
            minut+=5
            gt $locP
        end
    if infestation>=5:
        cla
        *clr
        '<center><img <<$set_imgh>> src="images/enemy/guards/guards.jpg"></center>'
        *nl
        'It is difficult to hide how infested you are with tentacles, and the once friendly smiles of the guards fade as they realize What You Are.'
        *nl
        'They draw swords and other weapons, calling for you to stop fighting and just die.'
            act 'Defend yourself':
                experience+=10
                adventurertimer+=rand(2, 5)
                gt 'fightguards', '2'
            end
    end
end
And as I typed that I realized my flaw. Yeah, I'll change it to northroadRNG assuming it doesn't delete the array before run RoadAlly.
 

WinterGreen

Newbie
Mar 21, 2022
26
8
So if you gain access to the Maceasy library through Osirus's memory lane trip event, you will bug out the cursed collar quest if you didn't speak to Loksi first. Also at some point I am unable to reequip the Garand when speaking to her at a bed.
 
Mar 23, 2022
300
75
1. So if you gain access to the Maceasy library through Osirus's memory lane trip event, you will bug out the cursed collar quest if you didn't speak to Loksi first.

2. Also at some point I am unable to reequip the Garand when speaking to her at a bed.
1. That quest was actually changed. Now in order to unlock cursed collars you need Setty from the prison and do her questline in the demon prison.

2. I think she broke when Snekk made her upgradable. Should make narrowing down the bug easier at least.

edit: For anyone looking Garand was unequided without going through unequip somehow. I'm looking but not sure if I'll find it.
 
Last edited:

Solid Snekk

Well-Known Member
Game Developer
May 5, 2017
1,032
1,120
1. So if you gain access to the Maceasy library through Osirus's memory lane trip event, you will bug out the cursed collar quest if you didn't speak to Loksi first.

2. Also at some point I am unable to reequip the Garand when speaking to her at a bed.
1. Fixed, Loksi no longer cares if you already know about the library.

2. I think I found the problem, one of the mountain areas takes her from you. Changed it so you can always equip her and removed that bug.
 
Mar 23, 2022
300
75
1. Fixed, Loksi no longer cares if you already know about the library.

2. I think I found the problem, one of the mountain areas takes her from you. Changed it so you can always equip her and removed that bug.
So funny thing if you used my changes on git I might have messed up, and I can't undo them because git is being annoying right now. So uh can you use this instead?

Code:
            act 'Thank her for the information and tell her she was a huge help':
                if MacLib=0:
                    MacLib=1
                end
                minut+=5
                loksicollar=1
                gt $locP
            end
 
  • Like
Reactions: Solid Snekk
Mar 23, 2022
300
75
I just I had though, feel free to tell me I'm dumb if you'd like. But the main page's git leads to . KaitoKuro and I (possibly Snekk) use as the unoffical update git. Should Snekk change the main page git or am I being dumb?
 

Solid Snekk

Well-Known Member
Game Developer
May 5, 2017
1,032
1,120
I just I had though, feel free to tell me I'm dumb if you'd like. But the main page's git leads to . KaitoKuro and I (possibly Snekk) use as the unoffical update git. Should Snekk change the main page git or am I being dumb?
You have your own builds which link to the main git. I can merge your projects into the main file if you submit a request, but as the project owner I think I get owner access to any fork of Vicindio on git but I don't know.

Also I use snekkbuild:

I plan to work on the slum school/community center this update but I'm organizing my notes to add to the git. Right now I'm compiling my notes on the various deities so I can post a general guide as to why things are the way they are. After that I'll get a location guide out.
 
Mar 23, 2022
300
75
You have your own builds which link to the main git. I can merge your projects into the main file if you submit a request, but as the project owner I think I get owner access to any fork of Vicindio on git but I don't know.

Also I use snekkbuild:

I plan to work on the slum school/community center this update but I'm organizing my notes to add to the git. Right now I'm compiling my notes on the various deities so I can post a general guide as to why things are the way they are. After that I'll get a location guide out.
Still as lost as when I started looking into it. All I know is

1715646271705.png

and

1715646307222.png

are different.
 

Solid Snekk

Well-Known Member
Game Developer
May 5, 2017
1,032
1,120
Still as lost as when I started looking into it. All I know is

and

are different.
Only I can make edits to the default source code of the game. Others can open up branches under their name and make changes.

Letting everyone touch the source code would cause problems so everyone just gets their own version of it. To make it "canon" they just do a merge request and I can accept or veto it. I think you have one that I vetoed in favor of Kaito's bugfix version.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Vombatidi
4.20 star(s) 13 Votes