Advice for new developer

AsmodeusDen

Game Developer
Oct 1, 2021
Hi! New developer here, looking for any kind of advice. We are making our first game in renpy, and is a dark fantasy with male dom and kinky themes. Any advice is welcomed!

DarkRegi

May 1, 2020
Hi, I'm very new at it too, but one important piece of advice which I can offer is something another dev told me: do not to release your game too soon. I'm following this advice myself religiously, and I aim to make sure that there is at least a couple of hours of content before I make the first public release. First impressions often leave a strong impact, and having more content available from the get-go can really show the potential your game has, and releasing 0.0.01 versions with only a couple of minutes of gameplay is often looked upon poorly.

I understand the appeal of getting it out fast and getting community feedback soon, but it's a fine balance I think.

Also, really make sure that you have a clear understanding of what your game is and what it isn't, and make sure to exemplify any way it distinguishes itself from other games. An interesting plot, captivating art, smooth gameplay, a killer UI, anything really that makes it stand out, you should make sure you highlight that well.

And lastly, advice which I'm not following: start small. Might by hypocritical of me to suggest this since I'm trying to tackle a large project from the start, but starting small is usually a good way to both get into the industry, make a name for yourself, and actually have a complete game now rather than a lumbering mess 2 years down the line that you're sick of but just won't be able to get done with.

Reactions: AsmodeusDen

AsmodeusDen

Game Developer
Oct 1, 2021