Any point in rendering in Arnold or V-ray instead of Iray?

Ender011

Nov 10, 2020
I recently got a student edition of Autodesk Maya that comes with the Arnold render engine built in. I had planned to just create animations in Maya using a Genesis 8 figure, transfer them back to Daz and save them as a preset.

However! I recently read somewhere that both Arnold and VRay (which I could also get a student edition of) are both better than Iray. I'm still pretty new to rendering, but after doing a few tests I didn't see much of a difference. There is a solid chance that I'm just messing something up with Arnold and it's keeping me from getting better results.

So, is there any real benefit to switching? Aside from dealing with the head ache of getting all of the materials transferred over to Arnold, that is ... Would I really see any better results after going through the extra work?

anne O'nymous

I'm not grumpy, I'm just coded that way.
Modder
Donor
Respected User
Jun 10, 2017
So, is there any real benefit to switching?
Short answer: Yes, but no.

Long answer:
While IRay rendering engine is far to be as bad as some say, Maya's rendering engines are better, so technically speaking, you would benefit from their use. But there's two "but".
Firstly, to effectively benefit from them, I mean in a way that you would notice the difference, you would need to tweak all the material of you imported Daz assets, and understand how to correctly configure Maya's engine to give the best results.
Secondly, while you'll be proud of yourself and would have the satisfaction to provide the best rendering quality you can achieve, less than 1% of your players would notice this quality. When you see that there's games with inconsistent renders, or characters that looks like plastic dolls, that are praised by their fans for their supposed "high quality renders", you wonder if it worth the time.