Ren'Py Tutorial [Beginner -> Intermediate] Future-Proofing State for Visual Novels

Exanadae

Dec 19, 2018
Background

I'm a software developer who likes to play VNs with the source-code open in another window so I can be sure I'm not missing anything important. This means I see a lot of Ren'Py code. It's always bugged me that many developers track state haphazardly, so I decided to throw up a guide to how developers could (in my opinion) make life easier for themselves in the long run.

Introduction

It felt like this was always going to happen.

Six months into development, six episodes of your game published like clockwork and working hard on episode seven. But that one character. That one minor character who turned into a Patreon favorite. That one character you hadn't been tracking affection for because she was just the bank teller for fuck's sake. You grimace, go back through the code and add relationship-counter updates to every past interaction, and write those terrible words into the changelog.

* To access the scenes with Wendy, you will need to start a new game.
But it didn't have to be that way. With a little bit of preparation your players could have boned (or not boned) Wendy without ever knowing it wasn't part of your master-plan all along.

Counters Bad. Event Logs Good.

Knowing that wendy_affection == 7 tells you that Wendy likes you, but it doesn't tell you why she likes you. The problem with using counters to track game state in a VN is that every time you react to some in-game event by adding to (or subtracting from) a counter, you're throwing away important information about where that number came from. Other ways this can bite you in the ass include:
  • You've been scrupulously tracking how virtuous your MC has been behaving, but you realize too late that you also want to know how virtuous they've been behaving while other people were watching.