Daz Beginner questions

TommyEsclow

Aug 18, 2017
Hey there,

I'm a beginner in DAZ but i do have experiences with cinema 4d and blender so It wasn't that hard to figure out most of the things fortunately. However, I got a bit confused regarding tips I read mainly in regards of render quality and settings.

I rendered quite a lot of things to play around my first still image scene with max samples on 2560x1440 / quality filter on and set to 1 and then I also rendered images on 4k with quality turned off and recommended settings to make the image smaller later on in order to eliminate noise. It was a guide from a guy called mrknobb. No matter what I tried the end result in making the image smaller compared to the normal procedure rendering in DAZ was way worse. And the biggest issue was that it took way much more time. So that 2k above with max samples took me around 6 minutes while reducing everything and maxing the res to 4k etc. took me more than an hour. I left it on 95% so it could automatically close. And the quality from my 6 minutes render was much better on top of it. I did go for 1:1 in recommended settings which is why I got so confused.

Ps: This is the first render i meant

test-render.png

Regarding Animaiton

So I also played around with animation and it was surprisingly nice to handle. My biggest concern currently is to edit the image series in order to make them a smooth seamless animation. I tried it with Photoshop but it looked kinda bad or at least not to my likening. I'd highly appreciate tips regarding that One way I found was to double the amount of copies for each frame so make it look smoother so it takes like 2 frames to move on but that's not an optimal solution and it still doesn't look right.

Lastly downloadable content

Do you guys use any mods for lightning, rendering or something like that? I'm not using any of those since there is a ton and I'm not sure which is good.

Cheers~

Last edited:

Rich

Old Fart
Modder
Donor
Respected User