Ren'Py Blinking character effect

ddeadbeat

Bewbie
Game Developer
Mar 30, 2018
Sorry to create a thread for such a small question, but it seems that there's no general Ren'Py questions thread.
I tried to google and search such question on this forum but didn't succeed.
My question is: how to create an effect, when while the player doesn't click, Ren'Py shows him this kind of loop:

Image with character with opened eyes "grl_eyes_opened" for a few seconds, then rapidly shows images like "grl_eyes_halfclosed" - "grl_eyes_closed" - "grl_eyes_halfclosed"
maybe with some effects, idk how would it look.

At least it's my guess how this effect should be achieved. I might me totally wrong. If so, please enlighten me!
I'm an absolute newbie both in Daz (btw, images I refer to, are renders in daz), Ren'Py and programming as well, please excuse my ignorance.

An example of what I would like to achieve, is VN Being A DIK. There are several such scenes with blinking characters.
I even used UnRen to decompile the code and unpacke images of the game (and felt like a criminal lol) to see that there are indeed 3 images of blinking. But in scripts file I couldn't find any line that addresses to those images, which was super confusing to me.

ddeadbeat

Bewbie
Game Developer
Mar 30, 2018
Thanks for the answer, I saw this article, but it looks like the code was made for that kind of VN, where there is a background and characters as "image", but in my case I have only "scenes", since I use renders from Daz. Could you help me to adjust this code to use it with scenes?

anne O'nymous

I'm not grumpy, I'm just coded that way.
Modder
Donor
Respected User
Jun 10, 2017
Thanks for the answer, I saw this article, but it looks like the code was made for that kind of VN, where there is a background and characters as "image", but in my case I have only "scenes", since I use renders from Daz. Could you help me to adjust this code to use it with scenes?
Code:
 image girl eyes normal: