Can a quality VN be made with AI art in it's current state?

onmyown23

Sep 30, 2020
I'm a writer, musician, and programmer.

I SUCK at drawing - can't do it to save my life. I've messed around extensively with DAZ, but it's too tedious and I honestly am not a fan of 3d models.

So when Stable Diffusion actually started producing pretty sweet images and I could download it on my computer, I was sold. RevAnimated produces some beautiful women, even when you train your own Loras and get consistent characters. Loras are so effective in fact that my VN is based on time travel, since you can specify age and the Lora is great at adapting the character to the age.

The current limitations of AI is clothing consistency, sex scenes, and animations (give it another 6 months though and I'm sure that will be ironed out).

I've written only the intro to my VN with just as many hours put into the images as the writing, but I'm questioning it now because AI art doesn't seem to have a good reputation and I'm wondering if it's even worth it.

What are your thoughts on AI art?

Meaning Less

Engaged Member
Sep 13, 2016
Can a quality VN be made with AI art in it's current state?
Can it be done with quality? Yes, but you would most likely need someone that is capable of drawing on a similar level than the AI to fix and edit all inconsistencies as well as filling the gaps of content the AI doesn't want to draw for you.

So it would be a question of is it worth it? Because those artists are probably going to spend a lot of time fixing issues and learning the AI style to keep things consistent, but at what point would be easier to just draw everything from scratch with a simpler visual style than the one the AI is creating?

I'm not sure, I guess we will see what the future brings us.

Reactions: Jaike

Allard

Game Developer
May 20, 2018