Ren'Py Character 'n' Quest Manager for Ren'Py

rodrigosarri

Sep 22, 2020
Hello everybody, How are you? At a time when I was making a suggestion for a game I've been following, one of the developers asked me if I could make a feature I suggested in Ren'Py.

After a month working and studying about Ren'Py (I'm a system analyst and I've worked with Python in the past) I decided to develop the resource and now I'm distributing this resource for free to anyone who wants to use it and help me improve either with suggestions or requests (but keep in mind that I do this feature in my spare time).

Video

More info

Download or clone the project

Wiki

That's it, hope you guys like it!

anne O'nymous

I'm not grumpy, I'm just coded that way.
Modder
Respected User
Donor
Jun 10, 2017
[...] anyone who wants to use it and help me improve either with suggestions or requests [...]
Ok, I found a moment and took a look at your code...

First thing first, I'm really not sure that Microsoft Arial font is free, therefore you should find a better font ; one that you have the right to distribute.

Then, well there's many things to say, some regarding Ren'Py, others regarding Python or the logical process.

Note: The code is wrote on the fly, there's perhaps some typo.

As said by Ren'Py documentation, statements like define and image are at init level, and create their own init context. Therefore, putting them in a label just break the label (but by chance not it's processing). They should all be at 0 indentation and outside of any labels or init block.

Regarding the Characters object:
You don't have permission to view the spoiler content. Log in or register now.

Regarding the MountCharacterObject object:

Regarding the MountQuestObject object:

Regarding the Panel object:

Regarding the Quests object:

Python:
label charactersLabel:
    [...]
    $ mountCharacter = Characters()
    [...]
    $ mountCharacter.addChar(
    [...]