Copyright questions.

boobshi

Sep 23, 2020
Hi, noob here. I'm planning to create a game using Ren'py and TES5 - Skyrim. It will be a free game that I will upload onto here when I'm finish. My question is that I'm I allow to that do it?
1. Can it get taken down because I'm using screenshot from Skyrim even though it's so heavily modded that it doesn't look like the original?
2. If it's a clothing mod for Skyrim, but it's from another game, say Dark Soul or Black Desert. Will I still get in trouble with DS or BDO, even though the screenshot itself is in skyrim?
3. For in-game sound, can I use generic sound from Skyrim or Witcher. For example sword clashing or swing sound?
4. I know I can't use official sound track from other games, but can I use music that's included from mods like
5. If story are influenced from other games and stories, do where do I acknowledge that? Also what happen if I don't remember where I got mods from since I have been hording mods from every nooks of the internet? Can I just do a general thanks for all mod and contents creators?

Yngling

Nov 15, 2020
Important disclaimer: I'm not a lawyer and this is not legal advise.

I strongly suggest you do speak to a lawyer if you want to pursue this.

Personally I do think that if you use a program (especially something like Skyrim) for this purpose, you are breaking copyright law, and I suppose it is possible that the copyright owners at least force you to stop and possibly also sue for damages.

There is some "case history" when it comes to indie devs using Honey Select, which is arguably better/easier/more logical/more common for making an adult game then Skyrim. I don't think it ever came to the court but as I remember it still wasn't really nice for those involved. You may want to read this thread:
https://f95zone.to/threads/fakku-love-hate-still-pending-resolution.35129/