Cross-franchise games a.k.a The Multiverse Discussion

Mr. TurTur

Jun 12, 2020
Over the past few weeks, I've been reading a lot about game development and creating visual novels and the like.
In the process, I've noticed a recurring warning from experienced people:

DON'T TRY A MULTIVERSE GAME!

Of course, as a newcomer to game development and as a writer, I've had this idea before.

Fortunately, I discarded it.

But I also don't recall having played that many successful cross-franchise games.
I know Camp Pine Wood, Star Chanel 34 and, if it counts, Summertime Saga with its irl characters.

Still, I'm curious why there aren't more of these.
What are important points in development that can go wrong, what is the potential of MV stories?

You know, a general discussion about multiverse games.

I'll just throw a few thoughts of mine into the mix :)

Art Stile:

It depends on the franchise you're using. Overall I think 3D is less flexible than 2D art in this area.

When you parody series with extremely different styles, what do you do?

Take The Simpsons, The Incredibles, and Game of Thrones, for example.

Use the original artstyles of the series? I can imagine that would look very strange. Or you could just use characters with more appropriate Stiles.

Change the designs. Change small parts of each character with a new design philosophy to make everything look more cohesive. This might upset fans of the cherished franchise. Besides, it's not easy to change every style in this way. It could also go into an uncanny valley and cock block players.

Use your own or a completely different style for everything. Im not sure how i feel about this. This might work. Some parody games do this, so there is probably a Makert.

Story:

How did this come about? I think few players like those (usually) overly complex stories that involve a goddess, a dimensional tech babble and a big quest that changes fate itself.

Having many different characters together is complex enough.