Daz DoF, lighting & rendering

alexander3rd

AlexanderGames
Game Developer
Jan 28, 2018
Hi!
A few questions to the more experienced Daz folks here. Just did a test render:
violet test.png
A very simple scene with just the model in it, no objects, no clothing. Illuminated with 2 spotlights, left & right side. Used depth of field.
Took 10 mins to render out 1080p, roughly 500 samples, quality seems acceptable, at least to me personally.
A few questions - Can anyone suggest some lighting tips, or using spotlights are usually enough?
Any suggestions for quality+speed rendering? I changed the mesh resolution level from High to Base for the model & hair, that seems to speed things up quite a lot with a minimal impact on the quality. But I'm very new to Daz and 3D in general, so there's probably plenty of 'hidden' things I'm missing, maybe some properties that could be dialed down/turned off, if not needed?
What are the pros and cons of Iray vs 3Delight?
Thank you!

Rich

Old Fart
Modder
Donor
Respected User
Game Developer
Jun 25, 2017
A few questions - Can anyone suggest some lighting tips, or using spotlights are usually enough?
That is really dependent on what type of scene you're using. If you're doing an outdoor scene, you generally will get very nice results using an HDRI (which can also fill in the background). The nice thing about HDRI's is that they give you light from "all around" - just with more brightness in the direction that the sun (or whatever) is coming from.

Indoor scenes are much trickier. Sometimes you want to remove a wall or ceiling to let exterior light in. Other times, you may want to use "ghost lights" to get additional light into the scene without the light source actually being visible. But using only ghost lights gives you an unnatural look, since the don't cast much in the way of shadows if they're large. (Small ghost lights can, however.)