Others Developing my own cheat tool

neverending0

Feb 17, 2018
Hi all,

Wanted to prefix this by saying that everyone here does really amazing work and I highly doubt I could spend the time to get into even half of a game. That being said, I wanted to get some quick pointers on hacking some of these games with hopes to sorta eventually reverse engineer a game and figure out how it all works. I could just sit here and open up Visual Studio or w/e we use for Unity games or read some of the RPGMaker code but honestly if I could get some pointers I'd be in a much better spot.

The two I want to target are Unity games and the RPGMaker version with the www folder (since that one's js based and I don't mind working with js). As a background, I work as a software engineer so I'm fairly decent at reading some of this but I've never really done game dev before so it's sorta a different world.

I noticed in Unity games people usually release cheats with an Assembly-CSharp.dll file. Do you normally decompile the one from the game and edit that, then build it into a dll? I'd imagine I could do something similar and do a diff between the game's dll and the cheat one and figure out what people add but just wanted to figure that one out.

And then for the RPGMaker games, would the first go at this one simply be to just create another canvas sort of thing that we can interact with? I guess all the games store things like items and weapons/armors in a similar area so you can just display all of these info and variables into the editor for display?

Again I'm a huge noob at game dev stuff but always found it interesting how people come out with cheat tools and the like so quickly. Sorry for all the dumb questions and all the rambling in this lol and if the answer is just to sit down and try developing a game myself I'll just have to find some time to do so.

JakaiD

Dec 26, 2018
Popular way to create cheats is via

As for Unity, look into Unity Mod Manager