Distributive size & compression

zegamez

Game Developer
May 22, 2019
Hi!
I'm a newbie. Yesterday I uploaded the first release of my first game. It contains about 900 renders and 90 animations.
The distributive size is about 1.8 Gb, and some people complained that it's too big,

So, I have a question. Is this size okay? I used jpg without any further compression and used maximum quality settings (12) in Photoshop after postprocessing.
The average size of images is 1.5 Mb, animations - 1 Mb / sec.

zegamez

Game Developer
May 22, 2019
Are there any unwritten rules about the compression of renders? Is there any app for compressing many images simultaneously?

JokerLeader

Former Legendary Game Compressor
Modder
Donor
Compressor
Mar 16, 2019
Are there any unwritten rules about the compression of renders? Is there any app for compressing many images simultaneously?
I can compress your game
Too big....for a first release people are gonna think if it's this big now imagine how big it's gonna get..... :KEK:
....go ask the compressing addicts around the forum.... JokerLeader .....
:p

Reactions: zegamez and Lerd0

mickydoo

Fudged it again.
Game Developer
Jan 5, 2018
I do mine at quality 10 in photoshop and they are under 500kb

The 90 animations is what is killing it, I have never even made that many in my first entirely completed game.

Reactions: zegamez

hiya02

Oct 14, 2019