Ren'Py Dynamically determining variables

Alfius

Engaged Member
Modder
Sep 30, 2017
Hi,

I'm trying to assist one of the developers on here, but I'm a complete noob when it comes to Renpy/Python.

What I'm trying to do is simply the following:-

There is an object from a class
init python:
class Person:
def __init__ (self, fname, lname, age):
self.fname = fname
self.lname = lname
self.age = age

So I create a "Person" object
default TClaire = Person("Claire","White",27)

Now I want to access TClaire and I'm able to access it via "text" like so:
(CharName = "TClaire")

hbox:
text "[" + CharName+ ".Name]":
size 10

And it Correctly outputs "Claire"

However, IF I assign it to a string. I get the following:
$ Playername ="[" + CharName+ ".Name]";

it outputs "[TClaire.Name} "
This is obviously not what I want.

IS it possible to do this in Renpy, It seems obvious, but I could not find any way that this will work.

anne O'nymous

I'm not grumpy, I'm just coded that way.
Modder
Donor
Respected User
Jun 10, 2017
However, IF I assign it to a string. I get the following:
$ Playername ="[" + CharName+ ".Name]";

it outputs "[TClaire.Name} "
This is obviously not what I want.

IS it possible to do this in Renpy, It seems obvious, but I could not find any way that this will work.
Text interpolation isn't recursive. Therefore, this :
Code:
label whatever:
    $ variable = "[" + whatever + "]"
    "[variable]"
Will always interpolate the content of variable and display it as a literal strinng ; even if this said string have bracket in it.

Python is designed to works as dynamically as possible, you don't need to rely on Ren'py for this, just do it natively :
Code:
label whatever:
    $ charName = "TClaire"
    $ playerName = getattr( store, CharName ).Name
    "[playerName]"
Or even :
Code:
label whatever:
    $ playerName = getattr( store, "TClaire").Name
    "[playerName]"

Alfius

Engaged Member
Modder
Sep 30, 2017
Code:
label whatever:
    "[variable]"