Hello from KeypressingMonkey!

KeypressingMonkey

Sep 12, 2020
Untitled.png
Hi everyone,

I'm new here, but not that new to VNs and development in general. I'm a programmer by trade and I have written a program that I hope many of you will find useful: A renPy debugger.
I have the file hosted where I hope to raise some funds to create my own game and help pay for my rent in these trying times.

# What does the renPyDebugger do?
In essence I have come to realize that renPy has a lot of potential for human errors - worse yet errors that are syntactically correct but will cause issues while playing the game:
  • Background images used in the code but not available in the /images/ folder. This will report errors and also raise a note whenever a similar spelling is detected to help with typos.
  • Characters referenced but not defined, again with similar spelling note (right now this will only report upper/lowercase similarities, but I want to extend this)
  • Variable names used but not declared (including those defined in inline-ifs in menus and such!)
  • Warning for variables that are declared but never used
  • Warnings for unreachable code (labels that are defined but never jumped to)
  • Error for jumps that are defined but the associated label does not exist.
  • Error for images that are different from the game's resolution (common error for all the people who render in 4k and downscale to 1080p)
All these errors cost a lot of time and thanks to the way renPy works (all script files get merged into one, images being hard-coded strings that may or may not be inside the folder) these errors can make it into the final game without anyone noticing. I am fairly certain that this script can save you hours of your time over a project and deliver a much better quality game.

# Upcoming features:
  • Check for sounds, voices, music that are referenced in the script but are missing in folder.