Hi guys, I'm thinking of making a html game, but I need help.

HollowWorld

Jan 4, 2019
Hi I'm brand new to development of games, but I have a real good idea for a html game. In fact this is the first game I make.

So my questions are:

What laptop is the best to buy for developing a html game?

What engine should I use to develop my game? (I have heard of Twine, but do I need anything else?)

Are there any videos or threads out on the internet showing me where to start and how to develop a html game?

Thank you, for taking your time to help me I really do appreciate it.

tomcire

Jun 12, 2018
Hi.
Everything depend on what type of game you want to build, for a twine game you don't need much as hardware, just the minimum to run a browser... if you instead want to use heavier framework/engines, well, it is another matter.
Explain what typology of game you want to make, because you may even need deep understanding of the involved technologies and being a skilled programmer too.

basnalex

Jan 29, 2018
What is your comfort level with HTML? Programming in general?
I have used Twine some for planning out story ideas. Unless you are wanting to host it on a website, while it was easier out of the box compared to something like Ren'Py; Ren'Py has a much larger community that can help you and it can do about as much out of the box as Twine without deep programming knowledge.

As for laptop, you are really going to need to build it around you rendering/artwork tools. Unless you are using Unity or Unreal, most of the other tools really just need a text editor or browser.

HollowWorld

Jan 4, 2019
Hi.
Everything depend on what type of game you want to build, for a twine game you don't need much as hardware, just the minimum to run a browser... if you instead want to use heavier framework/engines, well, it is another matter.
Explain what typology of game you want to make, because you may even need deep understanding of the involved technologies and being a skilled programmer too.