How is the market for adult games?

lucio_malfoy

May 20, 2020
Hello friends, this is my first post here. Im a designer with a passion for game design, some illustration knowledge and learning python. I've been a fan of adult games for quite a while and I've been thinking about investing my time making my own.

I have to firstly admit my main motivation is money. I live in a country with a weak economy and after checking Patreon's must successful games that's what motivated me to give this a shot. Given my situation rn, If I can get 1k usd/mo from a project, this becomes my full time job :) and i love these kind of games.

My question is: How is the market for adult games? Do creators just start their own Patreon and put the latest release there (and other rewards) ? Or are there other channels and mediums to be activated? What is the endgame? Keep updating a game to your patrons until you have a final version and later sell it on steam and other app stores?

I also identified a few key differentials which are: good artwork, some well written not too long story and covering a few fetishes like incest/legalteens/bdsm/foot and a few commonly others. But what else? What makes a good adult game stand out?

Thank you very much for your time. I hope I can bring joy to this community in the future.

DawnCry

Nov 25, 2017
First of all I do recommend you take this as a hobby for starters, if you get something that's fine but the time when a new creator could reach the sky on money is kind of over, now people are more picky on that point.

The usual that I do recommend is what most do, having a version that you release sooner to patreons and 2 weeks-1 month later for the rest.