HOW THE DUCK DO I WRITE A VISUAL NOVEL

Weird Duck

Creator of "Caught"
Game Developer
Feb 2, 2020
Hi everyone
I need to ask something , I had this VN idea that I wanted to make
I started learning daz3d and I finale got the hang of it and I am a programmer so ren'py also wasn't a problem
all is left is writing the script so i get my pen and paper and wrote the first line and that's it my mind goes blank
I suddenly forget how people talk to each other
can someone tell me what am I have to do to write a dialogue

Nicke

Game Developer
Jul 2, 2017
Well, I can tell you how I write dialogue: Slowly and with a lot of agony.

If there's a secret to it, I haven't found it yet.

Reactions: BuckWet

Hagatagar

Oct 11, 2019
First of all, get comfortable with the word FUCK, so that you don't need to write "I want to duck you dripping fussy!"

Joking aside. You are probably not a writer or some other kind of author. Yes, that is already the first problem.
And no, there's no easy solution there. Take a look at almost all the other VNs, their dialogues are not Shakespeare either.

You simply have to study and practice (if you want to write good dialogue).

Watch shows with straightforward dialogue, sitcoms and soap operas aren't too bad for that, remember, you're probably a beginner and you shouldn't try to deliver a Oscar-worthy discourse right away.
Write a bunch of test dialogues and have them read by text2speech. Often you can hear immediately if it sounds weird or passable and maybe even where you can improve it.

Reactions: Count Morado

EchoFoxtrot

"Wholesome Violence or Violently Wholesome"
Game Developer
Sep 5, 2018
Write your main characters. Get to know them.
Make them in daz. Which smile looks better on who, does girl a always smile with her teeth, does girl b prefer to look slightly annoyed.

Write the back story. How do the characters tease each other.
In short get a feel for them.

Anyway that's how I work.
Best of luck to ya fella

Weird Duck

Creator of "Caught"