Tutorial Others How to do Eye Light Reflections in Daz3D with Octane Render

Domiek

In a Scent
Donor
Game Developer
Jun 19, 2018
Hey guys, I've been using Octane Render with Daz since January 2019. I know there's a growing amount of devs here who are already using Octane or are interested in using it. I created a tutorial for my blog and figured that it would be helpful to post it here as well.

I'm condensing the original article to remove any flowery wording so we can just get to the meat of it.

Mesh Light attached to Camera: Create a plane and place it centered on a camera. Make the camera the parent and save this as a prop for future use. You will then be able position your light by assuming the camera view. This will save you countless hours down the road.

camera_meshlight.jpg

For this example, we’re going to use Hikari as our model. Let us pretend that we have low standards and consider this to be good lighting. I quickly put together three mesh lights to illuminate her.

hikari_frontal_ex1.jpg

Okay, we’re happy with the general lighting. Her hair is highlighted, we have some shadows on the face and she’s completely oblivious to the eternal darkness behind her. Hey, where are the light reflections? Other than a small blip on her right eye, there’s nothing there. Let's add a mesh light and place it right in front of Hikari.

hikari_frontal_ex2.jpg

Great, we got some eye reflections but Hikari looks like a fucking light bulb. Head on over to the Materials section and select your mesh light.

octane_material_menu.jpg

Set Visible on Diffuse to OFF. This removes the visible light in the scene so all that's left is specular light. Spec light only shows the light being reflected off different surfaces, like Hikari's eyes. This is also a great way to add extra shine/glow to your character's skin.

hikari_frontal_ex3.jpg