How to get Started Making Games?

chal12345

Apr 23, 2020
How exactly hard is it to make a game? I'm a complete amateur when it comes to any of this but I think it would be a lot of fun giving it a try.

Most games I've seen are made with RPG Maker but the gameplay is almost always lackluster and I've also seen Novelty for simple VNs, I own RPG Maker and Novelty is free so I could use either of them.
If there's another program that would be easy to use for an amateur let me know.
I'm no artist either, but that seems to avoidable with how many games use Illusion games such as Koikatsu and Honey Select. I was thinking of trying to use COM3D2 characters instead since I think they look a lot better personally.

Any advice/tips would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

• Angry
Reactions: Losersriot

Winterfire

Forum Fanatic
Respected User
Game Developer
Sep 27, 2018
Search what is a Game Design Document, learn what it is for, look for a few templates, then turn your idea into a proper overview of your whole project. This is always the first step.
Since it is your first game, it should be something smol and simple.

Once you have that covered, pick the engine that best fits your project and start making things... Tutorials exist for both engines, so that's something you can look on your own.

Reactions: Keðja

chal12345

Apr 23, 2020
Search what is a Game Design Document, learn what it is for, look for a few templates, then turn your idea into a proper overview of your whole project. This is always the first step.
Since it is your first game, it should be something smol and simple.

Once you have that covered, pick the engine that best fits your project and start making things... Tutorials exist for both engines, so that's something you can look on your own.
I hadn't heard of a Game Design Document since now, that shows how little i know lol. Thank you for the response, I'll definitely study up and try and make one for myself.

Reactions: Winterfire

Deleted member 5189987