How to hide the textbox/dialog during all transitions?

Jul 2, 2021
Hey guys, first time asking for advice in here so be gentle lol. I'm wracking my brain trying to figure this out. I am still fairly new to renpy coding so I am still learning as I go and I just know there has to be a way to do this, but all my google searches come up empty. Is it at all possible to make the textbox/dialog/say window with the text an all hide and return with any and all transitions?

Like when I need to dissolve to the next scene, when a movie is played, or any other time a transition takes place or even when a choice menu comes up. Even with the dev commands, when I reload the game with SHIFT-R, it always remains on the screen during this. I know I can use "window hide" and "window show" before and after most of these events, but I am trying to find a way to just have it do this by default without the need to add this to every scene transition and dissolve that is used (which is a lot). I know there has to be a way, but I just cannot find it. I've tried adding various things to the "screen say(who, what):" section of the screens.rpy but have been met with limited success. Any help would be great, Thanks!

GetOutOfMyLab

Conversation Conqueror
Modder
Aug 13, 2021
Does this in options.rpy not do what you want?
Python:
## Window management ###########################################################
##
## This controls when the dialogue window is displayed. If "show", it is always
## displayed. If "hide", it is only displayed when dialogue is present. If
## "auto", the window is hidden before scene statements and shown again once
## dialogue is displayed.
##
## After the game has started, this can be changed with the "window show",
## "window hide", and "window auto" statements.
define config.window = "auto"
Maybe also check out these config variables:

Jul 2, 2021
Does this in options.rpy not do what you want?
Python: