Ren'Py How To: Package Renpy game so the contents are not able to be accessed

LadyLilith-3D

Dec 16, 2020
Does anyone know if there is a way to package your Renpy game so the contents are not able to be accessed? The reason I ask is that some of the music in my game is free for commercial use BUT the license specifically says it can't be freely available in the source/contents. They don't want end-users to be able to access them easily and basically keep them for their own.

So far it seems like once you download a Renpy game you can just open up the game files / sift through and take out anything you want. Images, Movie files, Music, etc. How could I package my Renpy game so that I can at least comply with said license agreements? Any ideas?

P.S: Forgive my ignorance if this is something that is easy to do. I'm new to Renpy. I did read something about archiving so I still need to do more research into that as well.

riktor

Nov 26, 2018
for audio specifically, you could perhaps convert the files to base64 and code them as constants in python. would be a bit involved though.

they could still be extracted of course, but it would take more than just unren.

archiving in renpy just packages assets into rpa files, they are easily extracted with unren.

it all depends on how they mean 'freely available'

Last edited:

LadyLilith-3D

Dec 16, 2020
This is my hangup.

Items Incorporated Into End-Products Cannot be Extracted or Used Separately
You cannot allow items incorporated into end-products to be extracted or used separately from the end-product. You must take all reasonable steps to prevent this from happening and inform any client who the project is for of their responsibilities in relation to this.

riktor

Nov 26, 2018
yeah that's vague enough to be troublesome. might try asking them what they'd consider reasonable.
ultimately it will almost always be extractable through some method.

baka

Engaged Member
Modder
Oct 13, 2016
not sure how much u can do in ren'py.