Tutorial How to: Video encoding

recreation

pure evil!
Respected User
Game Developer
Jun 10, 2018
Do you want to turn your animations for your game into videos but don't know how? Did you download a program to do the job but don't know what all the settings mean? Don't know what the best settings for your videos are?
This thread is for you.

The purpose of this thread is to have a place where users can ask questions about video encoding and to explain a few things in general.
While I'm by no means a professional, I have learned a few things over the years, so here are some general explanations:

Format and Codec:
The first choice to be made: What format should you use? In short, the format is the "container" which holds all the information of the video. There are lots of container formats. Examples of widespread and mostly used formats are .mp4, .wmv, .avi and .webm. While .avi and .wmv are old formats and usage decreases and the usage of of the newer .webm format increases.
If you want to make sure that the most of your audience can watch your videos, it's best to use a well known and supported format like .mp4, almost every device can handle it.
The codec is in simple terms the algorythm that decides how the video is encoded and decoded.

Most video editing programs give you the chance to change the codecs settings. Here are the most common and (imo) most important ones with some information:

Quality:
Is what it says. Sometimes called rate factor (RF). Lower values produce higher quality videos, but higher values reduce the filesize.

Colorspace:
Specifies how colors get organized.
Example:
If you can choose between YUV 4:2:0 and YUV 4:2:2, YUV is the color scheme and the numbers basically tell you how colors are stored.

4:2:0 means from every group of 4 horizontal and 2 vertical pixels only the 2 colors from the top row are stored and expanded for to the bottom. When using 4:2:2, the 2 colors from the bottom row are also stored and expanded to the top row.