In General, How Many Scenes Before 1st release?

JakeHard

Jan 3, 2022
Hi,

I'm a new dev, with a fair amount of knowledge of the workings of Daz Studio, and am wondering how many scenes are recommended for a 1st release. I have a story that is written out beforehand, and have already scripted several scenes (minus renders) in the latest version of Ren'py. I have played quite a few VNs before my first attempt at creating my own, but am still unsure of how many scenes I should create before I release my first version/chapter. I know it's better to have more than less, but if anyone could provide a good estimate, I would really appreciate it. Due to other employment opportunities becoming unavailable, this may be my only source of income for the foreseeable future.

Thank you in advance for any replies.

anne O'nymous

I'm not grumpy, I'm just coded that way.
Modder
Donor
Respected User
Jun 10, 2017
[...] and am wondering how many scenes are recommended for a 1st release.
As much as needed.

The first release should present the story, the main characters (with possibly some exceptions), and the game mechanism(s). If only one scene is needed for this, then one scene can be enough. And if you need 50 scenes for this, then 50 scenes is what your first release should have.
Be noted that those numbers are obviously exaggerations. If you can present all this with just one scene, your story is too inconsistent, and if you need 50 scenes, then your story building skill is probably messed, or your story too complicated.

FluffyStudio

Donor
Game Developer
May 23, 2017