Ren'Py Is it possible to create classes in renpy without complicating future development?

Pathologico

May 9, 2018
Hi!

I was creating a game in Renpy, for now I'm just creating the storyline in a linear way because I plan to add the gameplay later. I work as a programmer so I like to create classes and "systems" to manipulate things and that's what I wanted to do in renpy, create my own character classes, items, events in story development and others for the UI. But first I wanted to know if I have to be careful or if I have to take into account something in the case of future updates of the game if I publish a chapter version and if it can cause me problems if I want to generate the translation (for example if I create a localization class with the name = "farm" and I must translate that word to "ganja" in Spanish, I have to do something special to get it right)?

In summary the question is the one I put in the title, I want to know if it is feasible to do so and how it could affect the development in Renpy, my experience as a developer is not associated with Renpy so I do not know what could be the limitations.

And if you can tell me what could be the problems I should avoid that would be great!

Sorry if the question is too general or if I didn't explain well, anything you can ask me to clarify something.

Reactions: Mock1ngb1rd

anne O'nymous

I'm not grumpy, I'm just coded that way.
Modder
Donor
Respected User
Jun 10, 2017
I work as a programmer [...]
Did they stopped to teach what a "doc" folder, like the one that come with Ren'Py SDK, is, and/or that a manual exist to be read ? Why not read the one on your computer, that is also available online ?

But first I wanted to know if I have to be careful or if I have to take into account something in the case of future updates of the game if I publish a chapter version
Well, isn't what the page of the manual cover ?