Is it possible to tell renpy to stop a looped video and move to a different video only at the end of the video that's beeing looped?

30avenger30

Game Developer
May 27, 2018
Hey )
I hope I'm being clear.
I have a video being looped and supposed to move to a different video when the player hits the mouse.
I want it to move to the new video only when the looped video finish the last frame of the original video that is being looped , so that the new video will continue the first one.
Is it possible in renpy?

I'm using this code for the video:

image scene_1 = Movie(size=(1920,1080), channel="movie", play="Videos/scene 1.ogv", loop=True)

and then just show it:

show scene_1

Thanks...

Deleted member 609064

May 11, 2018
I am not a programmer but couldn't you just have the first video load on click 1, and then a brief pause (stop in the movement of the game/story) with a new movie starting on click 2?

Maybe you don't want that pause. If so, I suspect you need to make it all one movie, perhaps with a pause midway through (for cinematic purposes). I don't know what that will do for file size and loading ...

30avenger30

Game Developer
May 27, 2018
I am not a programmer but couldn't you just have the first video load on click 1, and then a brief pause (stop in the movement of the game/story) with a new movie starting on click 2?

Maybe you don't want that pause. If so, I suspect you need to make it all one movie, perhaps with a pause midway through (for cinematic purposes). I don't know what that will do for file size and loading ...
Thanks for the response.
No, I want the first video to loop and the player to decide when to finish the loop.
I just want renepy to stop the loop at the end of the video that is being looped.
for example...
if my looped video is 30 frames long and the player decides to stop the loop at frame 15 of the video, I want renepy to keep playing the loop until it reaches frame 30 and then move to the new video.
Again, I hope I'm being clear :)