Ren'Py Is Renpy loader help with security ? [ANSWERED]

Osider

RedHead
Donor
Sep 23, 2019
Hello,
Actually as a security researcher i know pretty well the risk of launching a script not checked before.
My question is pretty simple, is launching all game through the official launcher who can be found mitigate the risk of these bad script ?

I ask because if not the VM or (Windows sandbox if i found a way to passthrough the Graphic card directly (to much lag if not), because a script is something that can easily steal silently credential or connexion data.

I ask without really knowing how work exactly renpy, i try to reduce the risque of malware infection to maximum.

Thanks

EDIT :
Solution read all the post for more info :

1. Best protection :
VM
2. If you can't (or don't want) to run a VM : Sandboxie+ (correctly configured) can do the trick.

Thanks all for the answer.

Last edited:

Sphere42

Sep 9, 2018
RenPy can run standard python code with whatever permissions the executable is given. I haven't exactly tried but that probably includes third-party libraries (if you distribute them with your game) and whatever the regular modules can do.

Since all of this is defined in the user-provided script source code I sincerely doubt running the game through the launcher will help at all unless it has built-in restrictions. Which I doubt because implementing and testing those would be a huge amount of work which doesn't benefit the core audience of normie VN readers.

anne O'nymous

I'm not grumpy, I'm just coded that way.
Modder
Donor
Respected User
Jun 10, 2017
Actually as a security researcher i know pretty well the risk of launching a script not checked before.
I'm confused. I learned what to answer to your message in the first months of my formation as computer security admin. I would have assumed that someone working on the field at an higher level would know this even better than me.