Daz Is RTX 4050 mobile useless or not?

MrDepressedGB

Jul 18, 2024
So, I tried a little bit of rendering on my computer to see if it took longer than expected. And the answer was obvious, it is. If my grandma had a bike, she would probably ride it in half the time it takes for my laptop to render a single frame.

A single G8 character with clothing, hair, a golden palace, and an environment alone can take half an hour to render.

That's when I was wondering if using Daz 3D to create a visual kinetic novel was a little bit too much for my laptop. My biggest problem is I don't want to overheat or take a risk if my hardware stops working.

My specs: Lenovo LOQ 15APH8
- Ryzen 5 7640HS
- RTX 4050 6 GB VRAM mobile
- 16 GB RAM
- 512 SSD

However, I want to try Studio Neo (HS2/Illusion). But I don't think 512 SSD was enough because my Windows took 36 GB for their system and other software exists in my laptop. So it ruled out the possibility.

Keep in mind that I'm still learning to use Daz 3D (I'm basically a noob), and money is also a big factor for me. So, I won't be able to afford a PC eight or nine years down the line. Should I give up? Or maybe tweak the settings in Daz 3D, maybe?

If you guys can help me, I would be more than grateful. Thank you. :)

Winterfire

Forum Fanatic
Respected User
Game Developer
Sep 27, 2018
All of that is so tiny.

512gb ssd is not enough, I think my KK folder alone is over 100gb, and HS2 is probably the double. Daz3D (Between scenes and assets) would easily top that as well. You'll need at the very least a few hdds for storage.

6gb vram is not enough for rendering, you can struggle it through I suppose... Worth it? I wouldn't say so. I sure wouldn't. Maybe I'd give Blender rendering a shot. The ram is also not ideal.

If I were in you, i'd give up on Daz3D, buy a 2tb hdd, and start making the game with HS2. Save up money, and make your 2nd project with Daz3D.

Winterfire

Forum Fanatic
Respected User
Game Developer
Sep 27, 2018