Is there a better, IDE-like support for RenPy?

• Thread starter Deleted member 2426089
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 2426089

Hey!

I'm a software engineer by trade, looking to play around in RenPy. I've always used IntelliJ IDEs and I really love them. However, I'm kinda missing some cruical IDE features in Visual Studio Code (with the RenPy Lanauge extension). A few of these are

- Clicking on a symbol (constant, variable, function, etc.) and finding its usages. How it works in other software: By clicking on a symbol, I'm shown all of its usages

This is an issue because in my RenPy code I'm using an event-system which means I'm defining all of my choices in constants. And it'd be great if I could quickly find the usages of a choice or navigate to the definition.

There is no code completion, the editor does not hold a reference of the defined variables. There is also no way for me to quickly navigate to the definition except for the good ol' CTRL+SHIFT+F - search everywhere function. That kinda sucks.

Additionally I'd love to go the the system function definitions to find out what the hell they actually do or where they are used. In an IDE it would be a simple click after which I'm shown the source code (if availalbe).

Also, is there a refactor/rename functionality in VSCode that actually parses through the files? For me it seemed like it just changed the naming in the currently opened file.

Am I asking too much from VSCode? Is there a way to do these kind of things? Is there a better editor or addon for RenPy?

Thank you for reading guys!

Last edited by a moderator:
  • Sad
Reactions: HypnoKitten

8InchFloppyDick

Game Developer
Apr 4, 2020
Just out of interest... Not sure why you're using VSCode if you're used to and like IntelliJ... Surely you'd just tell RenPy to use IntelliJ as your editor? What am I missing?

D

Deleted member 2426089

There is no RenPy language support for IntelliJ IDEs, is there?

MFN

Game Developer
Mar 20, 2019
Hey!