Unity Looking for guidance on 3D graphics

Laiga

Mar 8, 2023
I am looking for guidance on how to approach the graphical side of a project I've been wanting to work on.

About me
I am a recently graduated game dev with some experience in Unity, coding, and design.
I've made a few games of small to medium scope. (15-30 min experiences)
I specialize in systems and monetization.
Studying monetization absolutely violated my innocent view on the games industry.

What I need help with
Finding a model to start with.
- I am looking for a base model that's similar in style to Koikatsu.

How to approach soft-body (jiggle) physics in Unity.
- Any starting points for this would be very helpful.
- Looking for a system that is interactive during play but won't fry a computer from having ~5 entities simulated.

How to make a model editing system.
- Similar to how games like Black Desert Online's character creator allows players to adjust meshes.
- How do I even start approaching this topic?
- Beyond mesh editing, I also want to know if there's a way edit the skeleton (rig) of a model in real-time.

I will likely ask more questions on things like decals and shadowing (huge).
For now I just want to make a simulated body in Unity that has interactive soft-body physics.

Last edited:

Luderos

Game Developer
Jul 20, 2020
I am looking for guidance on how to approach the graphical side of a project I've been wanting to work on.

About me
I am a recently graduated game dev with some experience in Unity, coding, and design.
I've made a few games of small to medium scope. (15-30 min experiences)
I specialize in systems and monetization.
Studying monetization absolutely violated my innocent view on the games industry.

What I need help with
Finding a model to start with.

- Looking for a system that is interactive during play but won't fry a computer from having ~5 entities simulated.

How to make a model editing system.