Making an Event Triggerer for a Sandbox game?

SlutsGetFucked

Apr 3, 2022
Hi there!

So, I'm currently developing a sandbox game, but because I don't want it to be a grindy mess, I want there to be a way for the player to be able to trigger a girl's event with the GUI. Now, I'm pretty much a complete novice when it comes to programming, but I've made my way through the Ren'py documentation and tried to search around google and here on F95, but I can't seem to find an exact answer to what I'm trying to do.

So currently, my plan is to have an image button up in the top corner of the screen that, on-click, will open up a menu of all of the girls sort of profile pictures, which will also be buttons that on-click will trigger the next event for that girl.

The way I've come up with to do this is to set up a variable like:

Code:
$ nextTiffEvent = tiffEventOne
and have Tiff's image to be:

Code:
jump [nextTiffEvent]
and then at the end of the the event:

Code:
$ tiffLevel += 1
$ nextTiffEvent = tiffEventTwo
So now, the imagebutton would jump to event two when clicked. The level variable is there in case I ever want one girl's event to be dependent on having seen another girl's event, so I can just set up an if statement that says if you don't have emiLevel = 3 it'll give you a message to advance Emi's story first, or something like that. I don't have plans to do that now, but I want to be prepared for that eventuality.

So my question is, will this work? And even if it does, is there a better way to do this? And if there is could you please explain it as if you were talking to a particularly stupid 6 year old? I haven't come across any other way to do this in my searches, but since I came up with this idea on my own, and I'm pretty clueless, I have a feeling that it's probably too convoluted or inefficient or just plain won't work.

I appreciate the help!

79flavors

Respected User
Jun 14, 2018
jump [nextTiffEvent] sadly doesn't work.

What you want is .