Ren'Py Daz Making my own clothing unrealistic for a beginner?

smallparrot53

May 28, 2020
Hey, I recently started learning renpy and DAZ. I have an idea about creating a old timey london based game. But I don't think there are any assets I can use for that era. I may have to make my own... Is that an unrealistic goal? Should I change it to something else? Or can I pull it off? If I can, please explain how...
Thanks in advance

anne O'nymous

I'm not grumpy, I'm just coded that way.
Modder
Donor
Respected User
Jun 10, 2017
Is that an unrealistic goal?
It totally depend of you. It's not because you just start learning how to use Daz3D, that you don't have what it need for that.

If I can, please explain how...
There's four way to do, but all share a common point, it need that you know how to create textures. Either by applying already existing textures and giving them the right form, or by drawing them by yourself. Obviously, the better you'll be at this, the better will be the result, making a white shirt don't limit to coloring something in plain white. You'll have to give a structure, I would say a "texture", to your texture. The bump map and/or normal map (that you'll also have to create) are what give it's effective relief to the texture, but it's more a feeling of relief, therefore it also need to be seen in the texture itself.

This said, the four ways are, from the simplest to the hardest :

• You change the texture of an existing meshes.
    Whatever is fully transparent in the texture will be fully transparent in the image, what mean that you can perfectly, by example, use a one piece swimsuit and transform it into a bra, just by changing the texture. It give approximate result, but most clothing having finally a structure relatively similar, it can be enough sometimes.
  • You create a morph for an existing meshes.