Ren'Py Minor coding question with short animation

TessSadist

Donor
Game Developer
Aug 4, 2019
Hi all,

Just a basic question -- I am trying to get a simple animation to play just once, then fade to another image without it reverting back to the prior image. (which is what is happening briefly right now) I've been a dev a bit now, but still a complete newbie to code and have never done an animation in my game yet at all. I can now successfully do a looping animation just fine (this works with certain animations fine to me) but another one I want to just show once. (single loop)

I already took out my original code and gave up on it for now, but I basically did:

image x = Movie(play="images/x.webm", Loop = False)
show image x with fade
scene e6tp23 (it's the next image) with mediumdissolve

I tried to put in a $ renpy.pause (2.0) type thing in there too but I can't seem to get it right. I just want it to go Prior image shows (tp22), then the animation plays once without a loop, and then it transitions from that to image tp23 as dialogue continues. (without kind of jumping back to 22)

I must be missing something simple -- any suggestions?

mickydoo

Fudged it again.
Game Developer
Jan 5, 2018
Hi all,

Just a basic question -- I am trying to get a simple animation to play just once, then fade to another image without it reverting back to the prior image. (which is what is happening briefly right now) I've been a dev a bit now, but still a complete newbie to code and have never done an animation in my game yet at all. I can now successfully do a looping animation just fine (this works with certain animations fine to me) but another one I want to just show once. (single loop)

I already took out my original code and gave up on it for now, but I basically did:

show image x with fade