My first render attempts using lighting. I need your comments (:

Derezz

Game Developer
Feb 24, 2019
Hi, im pretty new to daz and these are my first renders using lighting. Please write your thoughts( positive / negative ) so i can be better.

georgiaFHD2.png

Georgia 3.png

PervyHeadDD

Aug 16, 2019
Lighting is good and very appealing but if you will use some mood lighting like color it will make her feel more sexy

Reactions: Derezz

Rich

Old Fart
Modder
Donor
Respected User
Game Developer
Jun 25, 2017
First render - not bad. Second and third, your spotlights are too tight, or too close, causing drastic differences in how different parts of the figure are lit. Possibly back the lights out a ways and increase their intensity, or else increase their spread angle.

You might also benefit from a bit of rim lighting. Have you Googled "three point lighting?" The "back light" in 3-point can make a very interesting and subtle improvement. Even if you don't go with that, having lights from both sides of the camera produces what, at least to me, is more pleasing than a single spotlight.

Also, your shadows are pretty sharp. Look at the shadow line across the belly in the third render, for example. Are you spotlights set to "point" or "rectangle?" Using a rectangular light of reasonable size (30x30cm or 50x50cm) can produce somewhat smoother shadows and a bit more realistic look. No "real" light is a point - there's always some area involved. Basically, avoid "point" spotlights.

rev2020

Oct 16, 2019
since the majority seems scared of using lighting ;) this looks better than 90% of the renderers i see here also better than most games.
without lighting or just dull dome light characters looks flat
your character has depth and contrast
i guess you have an eye for how good lighting looks.

great work.
to soften the lights and shadows increase the size of the light.
you can also try to scale the lights Y to get more light to the lower body (Renderer 3)