Need advice for a good .ogv video converter/editor.

eXtease

Apr 19, 2021
Hi all.

I am new to renPy and during my recent experiments with its video feature I noticed that the .ogv file format works seamlessly while .avi and the rest are more of a hit and miss (some play, others show black screens, other don't even load).

I am a fan of the .ogg sound file format, so I have no problems converting my future video files to the open .ogv format. But the issue is finding a good video converter.

So far I've tried converting the files using online video converters. The results were total failures. Some have a small file size cap, others have low quality and some ask for money or subscriptions for this file format.

I also tried VideoPad Video Editor (the free version), and on each conversion I get screen artifacts (lines, dots, compression squares).
And another fail was Lightworks. This one has the .ogv file format when you try converting an .mp4 to .ogv it does absolutely nothing. No progress bar, no movements, nothing.

So the question is, do you know a good video/editing software that can take an .avi or .mp4 and create a high quality .ogv video file?
And what do you use (if you use .ogv of course).

Thank you for your help.

79flavors

Respected User
Jun 14, 2018
Generally the restriction is Android devices, since they support a limited number of codecs (A very large set, but still not all the commonly used ones).

Keep in mind that .mp4 is only a container file. It's a wrapper around the actual video/audio/subtitle tracks. And it's those tracks that sometimes work and sometimes won't. It's why some MP4 files will work on Android and not others... it's not the file format, just the codec that was encoded within it.