Need help choosing an engine for a text based rpg game.

Sinistrem

Feb 18, 2018
Hello.

I wish to create a text based game similar to the likes of CoC/TiTs, or as a non adult game example, Fallen London.
I myself was leaning towards using HTML/CSS/JS, since i have some knowledge of HTML and CSS back from school, but i often heard "build a game, not a game engine, no need to reinvent a wheel" argument, so i wanted to consult experienced people here, whether you would advise using some pre-built engine instead.

Google was able to pinpoint some potential engines, but i'm not sure they fit the bill. Engines like Inform 7 seem to be all about "dry" game which is 99% text with only minimalistic graphical and rpg elements.

On the other side of the spectrum was Ren'py. It looks like it is amazing for traditional VN structure (bg image, with character sprites on forefront and small text box in the middle), but gets rigid as you get away from that formula (I.e. I was thinking about having most of screen dedicated to text, with no background and character sprites on the sides). And once again, it seems to be very limited gameplay wise.

I'm not planning on adding any "heavy" gameplay, like 3d or even real time 2d, mainly aiming for "choose one of options and if necessary roll against attribute/equipment". The most "advanced" part i was thinking about was having a card based deck for random encounters / events (i.e. you sneak into mansion and by pressing "explore" button you draw cards from the deck, which can range from finding loot to an encounter with guards).

I hope HTML/CSS/JS is powerful enough for doing that. I'll also be very thankful for any advise on choosing any other engine for my game.
It's funny how i always imagined coding being easier than drawing as an artist. Yet after learning to draw for over half a year and finally deciding to look into coding it scares me much more.

Reactions: antuzinsky
Apr 24, 2020