Ren'Py Need help with bootstrap errors and Renpy directories

inigoshakir

Jul 25, 2020
Hi, I'm wondering if someone can help me understand what I'm doing wrong.

I'm building my own game using the Ren'py 7.4.10 sdk.

The path I have everything saved on my external HDD is
G:\Renpy Dev\

Inside that path I have:

G:\Renpy Dev\[Dev] Game 1
G:\Renpy Dev\[Dev] Game 2
G:\Renpy Dev\[Dev] Game 3
G:\Renpy Dev\my_game
G:\Renpy Dev\renpy-7.4.10-sdk

The [Dev] games are ones that I particularly liked and that seemed to use interesting mechanics that were relatively bug-free. So I use those as references for code examples. Not copying the code but more so that I can peek under the hood and see the logic behind what they are doing. (Yes, I'm still a newb.) I copied those to the Renpy Dev folder, then used rpaExtract and un.rpyc so I could get to the scripts. So far so good. I'm able to play the game on one screen and follow along with the script on another screen, taking notes as I go.

But I'm having trouble with two things.

First, every now and then (maybe every few weeks) when launching either one of their games or mine, the system will throw a bootstrap error. I've found that if I delete \renpy-7.4.10-sdk and reinstall from my previous downloaded copy of the sdk I can continue as before. A few weeks later it'll do it again. As far as I'm aware I haven't saved any changes in the example games so I'm not sure why bootstrap would be suddenly missing from those.

What are best practices to prevent throwing the bootstrap error?

Second issue, I decided that I wanted to go forward developing with Ren'py 8.0.3 to save myself any headaches down the road. I downloaded 8.0.3 and extracted to:

C:\Users\g***\Desktop\Dev_Build