Ren'Py New trouble with mouse "hovering" in Ren'Py

Sukebe_S

World's Slowest Amateur Game Developer
Donor
Game Developer
Mar 27, 2019
Hi Gurus,

I'm a total noob who's reengineering an existing (but abandoned) game in order to teach myself Ren'Py and Daz. In the original game ("Wifey's Dilemma"), players can hover their mouse cursor over an icon in the corner of the screen to find out information on a stat the MC can get. But now, in my reengineered version, hovering your mouse over the icon causes the game to break. I'm not sure why or what I did. Could someone have a look at the traceback code and help me figure out what I'm doing wrong? Here it is:

I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred.

While running game code:
File "game/script.rpy", line 1124, in script
n "You followed, and tried not to look stupid."
TypeError: unbound method get_tooltip() must be called with NullAction instance as first argument (got nothing instead)

-- Full Traceback ------------------------------------------------------------

Full traceback:
File "game/script.rpy", line 1124, in script
n "You followed, and tried not to look stupid."
File "/Volumes/Seagate/Emulators/renpy-7.3.5-sdk/renpy/ast.py", line 708, in execute
renpy.exports.say(who, what, *args, **kwargs)
File "/Volumes/Seagate/Emulators/renpy-7.3.5-sdk/renpy/exports.py", line 1345, in say
who(what, *args, **kwargs)
File "/Volumes/Seagate/Emulators/renpy-7.3.5-sdk/renpy/character.py", line 1142, in __call__
self.do_display(who, what, cb_args=self.cb_args, **display_args)
File "/Volumes/Seagate/Emulators/renpy-7.3.5-sdk/renpy/character.py", line 842, in do_display
**display_args)
File "/Volumes/Seagate/Emulators/renpy-7.3.5-sdk/renpy/character.py", line 591, in display_say
rv = renpy.ui.interact(mouse='say', type=type, roll_forward=roll_forward)
File "/Volumes/Seagate/Emulators/renpy-7.3.5-sdk/renpy/ui.py", line 297, in interact
rv = renpy.game.interface.interact(roll_forward=roll_forward, **kwargs)