No nVidia GPU. What's the best way to create VNs?

BadWolf71

Jan 1, 2019
Title is too short for the question. I am a beginner that has just downloaded DAZ & Blender and installed them. I know nothing else, please keep that in mind.

PC Specs:

CPU: AMD 5900X
GPU: Radeon 6900XT 18GB
RAM: 64GB

I know that DAZ is built for nVidia & I'm not going back to them. I want to start doing VNs with animations for my own story that I am writing. So, what are my options to get me going?

noping123

Game Developer
Jun 24, 2021
Your options are learn blender (steep learning curve, could take over a year just to become decent with it. If you're good, maybe 6 months?), use honey select, or suck it up and get an nvidia card.

It IS possible to cpu render with daz, but it would take you over a year just to create 1 very small release. Average render time could easily be in the hours. It's something that is somewhat feesible if you're just messing around making random renders - it is absolutely not reasonable if you are trying to make a VN - and absolutely not for animations.

But if you're dead set on never getting an nvidia card? just abandon daz right now. Either spend the next 6+ months learning blender, or go grab HS and learn that. Or learn to draw I guess.

Reactions: anne O'nymous

NemesisGames

Nemesis Party: NTR, or NOT
Game Developer
Feb 13, 2022
My game is entirely CPU renders with a five-year-old integrated Intel graphics card. No, it definitely does not take over a year for a small release.

It does, however, take clever use of Daz3D to do.

I mostly use RenderQueue to set up a batch of scenes to render while I sleep. And I use Intel Denoiser to denoise images so I can spend shorter render times on each image.

I have other techniques as well. I wrote a rough draft article about these processes. One of these days I’ll publish it.

Reactions: Glorified_ignorance

MissFortune

I Was Once, Possibly, Maybe, Perhaps… A Harem King
Respected User
Game Developer
Aug 17, 2019