Ren'Py Pause few seconds a cutscene in Renpy

UncommonRole

Jan 4, 2021
Hello there, I'm just finishing my first chapter of a visual novel, and I have a problem.

The issue is that I have many cutscenes, and I don't want to make them unskippable, but players unconsciously skip these cutscenes by clicking too quickly. Is there an option to avoid this problem? Maybe by adding a 3-second pause at the beginning? I don't know how to do that.

I'm sorry if it's a silly question, but I'm new to the world of programming and visual novels :unsure:

Thanks for the help!

anne O'nymous

I'm not grumpy, I'm just coded that way.
Modder
Donor
Respected User
Jun 10, 2017
[...] but players unconsciously skip these cutscenes by clicking too quickly.
Generally if players skip cutscenes, it's because they don't recognize them as cutscenes, or because the said cutscenes feel boring.
The second can only be fixed by making them better. As for the first, it seem that Desert Stalker's method works relatively well. You warn that what follow will be a cutscene, and you keep a small "cutscene in progress" notice displayed during all the said cutscene.

Reactions: UncommonRole

_Doux

Game Developer
Jun 20, 2023
Well, lets say you're showing one (or more) specific image and you want to make it impossible to skip for 5 seconds, then:

scene yourimage
$ renpy.pause(5, Hard=True) #After 5 seconds, clicking or not, it jumps to the label "endgame".
jump endgame

But I need to advise you, use wisely, so you don't bother the players.
In my case, I only use in important moments, like for example, in the moment of show the message: "save your game, end of this chapter..." So that, the "rush players" will not miss the moment to save their game.

Reactions: UncommonRole

79flavors

Respected User
Jun 14, 2018
There are a couple of answers.

First is rollback. If a player accidently skips a cutscene, they can rollback to see it. If they choose not to rollback, that's on them. No programming required.