Programmer seeking knowledge

GuillaumeR

Dec 13, 2017
Hi, I've been around for a year or so and this is my first post.

I'm currently a programmer in the crypto currency world and looking to get some game development knowledge.
I'm familiar with a couple programming language like c++, java/kotlin, c#,php,javascript... I have no experience/talent with visual stuff like rendering/3d animation.

So if you guys need help for anything programming related, I offer my help.

If you also have any idea where else to start I'm all ears, I'm kind of feeling that starting a game on my own is a really big task since I'm really not an artistic kinda guy :p

I've tried some games that I really liked like , ... and I wish to start and learn game dev.

Thanks

Guillaume

Winterfire

Forum Fanatic
Respected User
Game Developer
Sep 27, 2018
Since you have programming knowledge, I would start by downloading and learning to use DAZ3D until you are happy with the renders you do.

Once you have nailed that, write a story and learn how to use Ren'Py which should be fairly easy for you, especially if your first game will be a simple visual novel.

I Steal Your Cats
Donor
Oct 4, 2017
What @Winterfire said too. DAZ comes with a lot of tutorials to get you all started (Beginner). Then there's more on their site which you can buy. But, i'd recommend watching youtube videos or even just dabbling yourself. Much faster.

Alma_Elma

Game Developer
May 1, 2017
For the game engine, since you know how to programm, you can go with what you think would be the most suited for you, there's like said earlier, but you could go for something like for exemple, there's alot of choice to be honest, you should seek what seems the best to you before jumping in.
As for renders, there's alot of choice, but the more common choice is, like said already, and it even has alot of tutorials here.
You could also aim for things like , but I would say it require more investment and time to begin doing renders for a game.