Ren'Py [Ren'Py] Looking for feedback - looking for pointers/help

Rystvalya

Aug 24, 2019
This is my first attempt at a game and I've taken a step back to review my navigation and redo my artwork... can't call it better, just cleaner. But I CLEARLY need assistance. I've attached some early screenshots of the game so far

screenshot0001.png screenshot0003.png screenshot0004.png screenshot0005.png screenshot0007.png

The Plot:
You play as Kassie as she struggles to make ends meet in the real world. But a series of financial setback and shady lenders has put her it serious trouble. But she's given a way out by working her debt off in a gaming competition. But it's not as simple s it sounds... while winning earns you money and one step closer to your freedom, losing will cost you a lot more than a few dollars. Will Kassie earn her way out, or will she break and be stuck here forever? Make friends, build romances, humiliate your opponents, and compete for glory.

The Gameplay:
Overall the game is a standard VN where your stats effect your interactions with your teammates and competitors, allowing you to purchase items to help you and build your skills along the way. But you can only go so far without competing in the games which (for the time being) will be a series of minigames where your skills and domination over your opponent effect your outcome. This wins you your money, pays off your debts, and effects your relationships.

The struggle:
Since this is my first game I've got the basics of VN structure down but the game is giving me trouble. Apparently I'm working off an old script and I think knowing what I'm doing wrong, but more so I a struggling to figure out how to set outfits and redefine outfits that are selected. I'm open to advice or troubleshooting, and if this is ever met with any level of success I'd love to get a programmer.

Last edited:

pasunna

Game Developer
Feb 11, 2019
Just post the link then
People that have time will give it a shot