Renpy rollback error (perhaps the script changed in an incompatible way?)

swimsoot

Game Developer
Mar 14, 2020
Hi! I'm a dev who has had no major problems until my latest update. Although I have used the same version of Renpy to create each version, I have recently been getting a rollback error that won't allow a save from the last update to move forward in the new update.

If I hit IGNORE, the game restarts from the beginning.
If I continue with this restarted game, everything including the new content plays smoothly, saves smoothly, etc.

Not sure what has changed (I don't think I'm using any new commands that should mess things up.)

[I read past troubleshooting on this site for similar issues, but those all seem to be for players playing games with the issue, not for devs trying to fix the issue before uploading.]

Any thoughts? Thanks so much!

Here is the traceback:

Code:
I'm sorry, but an uncaught exception occurred.

While running game code:
  File "renpy/common/00action_file.rpy", line 452, in __call__
    renpy.load(fn)
Exception: Couldn't find a place to stop rolling back. Perhaps the script changed in an incompatible way?

-- Full Traceback ------------------------------------------------------------

Full traceback:
  File "renpy/common/_layout/screen_main_menu.rpym", line 28, in script
    python hide:
  File "/Users/neilalsip/Desktop/renpy-7.3.5-sdk/renpy/ast.py", line 914, in execute
    renpy.python.py_exec_bytecode(self.code.bytecode, self.hide, store=self.store)
  File "/Users/neilalsip/Desktop/renpy-7.3.5-sdk/renpy/python.py", line 2028, in py_exec_bytecode
    exec bytecode in globals, locals
  File "renpy/common/_layout/screen_main_menu.rpym", line 28, in <module>
    python hide:
  File "renpy/common/_layout/screen_main_menu.rpym", line 35, in _execute_python_hide
    ui.interact()
  File "/Users/neilalsip/Desktop/renpy-7.3.5-sdk/renpy/ui.py", line 297, in interact
    rv = renpy.game.interface.interact(roll_forward=roll_forward, **kwargs)