Repeated scenes or 'not main plot' related scenes with outdated dialogue

tanstaafl

Oct 29, 2018
A minor pet peeve of mine in games. Think of a game that has a primary progression, but it also has night scenes or side 'quests' that are not directly related to the primary plot. In the scenario I'm talking about a player progresses the main plot, seduces the woman or women to the point that they are fully available to the MC. If the player hasn't kept up with progressing the not directly related night scene with a specific LI you can get dialogue that just doesn't match up with where you are with that LI. It's not a big deal, but it does kind of mess with the flow of the game in many ways. Even the top tier games like Milfy City has instances of this; I.E. progressing Carolyn to the point where she is fully available to the MC, but when talking to her at night when she's on the couch you get dialogue that completely refutes that.

The worst part is that, as a developer, I can see ways to head this off if progression is tracked per character. Now, granted, I get that this might be my own OCD wreaking havoc on my enjoyment.
C:
switch(relationship.level){
    case 10:
        return “Say this [early relationship quote]”
        break;
    case 20:
        return “Say this [mid relationship quote]”
        break;
    case 30:
        return “Say this [late relationship quote]”
        break;
    default:
        return “Say this [no relationship quote]”
        break;
}
Does anyone else even notice this when it happens?

Last edited:

Mimir's Lab

Game Developer
Sep 30, 2019
Yeah, you have to be meticulous and on top of your game to keep little details like that on straight. It's why ideally, I prefer a straightforward story instead of a sandbox style, because it's easier to get the details to align because you have less to deal with and each branch you make is deliberate, and not unintended because your game is so free-form.

Untolddead

Dec 22, 2018