Ren'Py Onhold [Slutcraft:Heat of the Sperm]What do you guys think about a game changing the artist during development?

LIKE..?

• OLD

Votes: 5 71.4%
  • NEW

Votes: 2 28.6%

• Total voters

woguovs

Sep 7, 2021
1.png
(before)
QQ2.png
(after)

As one of my goat games, slutcraft was attracting me by her art style and settings.When I play the early version (0.2x) in 2020,I was very excited that I finally find a game worth waiting.Though it was pretty slow (0.4X till now ).To me,the art style is one important thing to make a play-or-not decision.
But I played the newest one lately,everything is good except they change the drawer:Kappa:make me feel strange a little.I have to put it downer than before...Others are ok with me,just the face...
(I know there are people who like the second more,this thread just from my own view)
It is my first time meeting this kind of thing, I wonder if somebody feel the same?
If the styles of the old artist and the new artist were similar, I could accept a bit more, but they are just... too different.
Is there other game changing their artist during developing game?

made a poll

(ShadowPortal even not change their cover of this game,still the old one lol,just kidding, love this game as always)

BanneDraws

Nov 4, 2022
I vaguely remember Orange Trainer and Claire's Quest switching their artists midway. If I remember correctly, it didn't go over well initially, but it's not like they can force the old artist to keep working on it, if the artist moved on. If it's a personal choice, however, then it will likely go down badly at least initially, since the audience got used to the old artist and needs time to re-adjust. Unless the new artist is god-tier compared to the old one, that is. Even then you might get a percentage of the crowd that would rather you had just stuck to the old stuff.