So I want to build a text-based game, and I would like some advice and guidance.

Lola Slut

Jul 11, 2020
Yes. That's right. I plan to litter the internet with yet another amateur video game. It's something I've never done before, but I figure that everybody has to start somewhere. And I have a concept that I am really passionate about right now, and I think could even appeal to a broad audience (even though that isn't really my goal).

I want to make a text-based game similar to "Corruption of Champions" or "Girl Life". A game that combines a simple choose-your-own-adventure structure with certain aspects of statistics and randomization.

Then I figured I could add imagery later. And with the combination of that and imagery, you basically get a game somewhat similar to "Summertime Saga", "Good Girl Gone Bad", "A Town Uncovered", etc.

I already know how to make a standard choose-your-own-adventure. And I find that really easy. I could even make a choose-your-own-adventure on Fandom/Wikia. But I also want the game to keep track of:

* The character's clothing and inventory
* The passage of time, (both on the clock scale and on the calendar scale)
* Stats for the character, such as their hunger, thirst, fatigue, health, strength, relation with other characters, etc.

Obviously, similar to "Corruption of Champions" or "Girl Life", the options that a player has and the outcome of their choices will depend upon each of the above factors.

Basically, the reason I make this post is to ask which websites or programs I should use to build the game and organize the factors so that the coincide correctly with the scenes. And if there's any other advice or guidance that any veteran text-based game makers had to offer.

So far, the only thing I have done is write a bunch of different scenes out on Google Docs. So this is basically the first place I went to ask.

Lola Slut

Jul 11, 2020
Reading through the WikiHow article, the one that stood out to me is "Story Nexus".