Some Questions about Daz

Volta

Apr 27, 2017
So I have a few questions about Daz but before I get into that I’ll do a little explaining.

I’ve been playing with Daz for a little while now, I can’t say I’m a pro by a long way but I know the ropes, a little about scene composition, lights, emissive surfaces VS point or spotlights, character building with sliders that sort of thing, which is great but since I’ve been writing my way through a first draft script for a game I thought I’d better up my Daz skills a bit.

Yes, the game is going to be Daz + Ren’py, nothing hugely revolutionary about that and as such I’d prefer to stand out on quality both of writing and Daz. Focussing on Daz for the moment I’d like to ask a few questions about how people have been getting top quality renders and which methods of lighting, skin shading and post work they have been using.

I’d love to be able to crank out renders that are on par with Lewdlab or ICSTOR, however I don’t find that to be a hard requirement since they are both excellent and my equipment for now isn’t going to match theirs, something more like Big Brother level of quality would be doable I think.

Since my rig is a work in progress it’s pointless to quote specs but I’m working with a GTX 970 6GB at the moment and for practise renders that will not be En Masse this is sufficient.

Firstly, Post work, assuming the use of Photoshop since that seems to be the standard, how much postwork do you people do to get the image as you want it? Is it as simple as a little colour balancing and static removal or is a major time investment needed and if so what do you do?

Now moving on to the Daz stuff, Anagenesis, is it worth it, how much difference does it make and does it increase render times noticeably. I know that Lewdlab uses it in DoD which of course looks great and before I start dabbling I thought I’d ask.