System Advice For Game

Tutorial

Jan 28, 2018
I would like to preface this by saying that I am not a coder / programmer. The most of my previous 'programming' experience is Twine, and I don't think that really counts. That being said, I have learned the basics of Java.

I've been storyboarding and sketching out a new game recently, and I've gotten to the point where I've gotten a decent bit of writing and design ideas down. I've begun to consider what system to use - and would like some advice on what to use. Regarding the game itself;
  • It would feature minimal images, having portraits or item artwork at most, maybe the occasional CG
  • It would be largely text-based to describe settings and individuals, and scenes would be written as scenes, rather than, say, the dialogue-focused writing of a VN
  • It would feature a simplistic turn-based combat system. Things that would be nice but not necessary for the system is the ability to engage multiple enemies.
  • It would feature an inventory system, and maybe an RPG-style progression system.
  • It would feature multiple locations.
--Basically, it's something I can mostly manageably create in Twine. That being said, I have noticed that people consider Twine to be a little unprofessional - and there is certainly something appealing to be said about a proper UI. Something close to what I want are the types of systems used in CoC or TiTS - though I'm told that they use Java.

To that end, how feasible would it be for a beginner programmer to set something like TiTS's system up? Failing that, are there any systems you would recommend for this sort of game? Is Twine the best choice after all, considering my preexisting understanding of the system? Would simply finding a more proficient programmer be a better answer?

Thank you in advance for your time.

Reactions: Saki_Sliz

Winterfire

Forum Fanatic
Respected User
Game Developer
Sep 27, 2018
If you want to use Twine, use twine.