Ren'Py Text not as overlay

wildcat99sh

Aug 31, 2017
Hi there,

i'm pretty new to Ren'Py, looked into the documentation and also here but cannot find a solution for my "problem".

Normally you show an image and then you let one of persons say something.
This text is displayed as an overlay over the e.g. most bottom 20% of the image.

OK, i can hide the textbox with key H.

But i would like to have two lets say areas on the screen. One only for the text and one above where the image is shown and always visible in total.

Is this possible at all?

Thanks in advance

79flavors

Respected User
Jun 14, 2018
Yes.

You're looking at using an addition .
A screen can be as simple or complex as you need. From a single line of text to a whole interface of interactive "stuff".

Essentially, you create an overlay (the screen) to be added and then use the show screen {nameofscreen} command in your code to add that screen to the existing layout.

That screen will remain, until you remove it through code (or never).

The textbox at the bottom of the screen with the character dialogue is a predefined screen. The "quick bar" at the very bottom of the screen with various shortcuts to things like load and save is a separate predefined screen. Likewise, there is a predefined screen usually shown in the bottom left that will optionally show the current speaking character's portrait/image.

If you want to add a screen to the game and just leave it there for the player to see/use, use show screen ...
If you want to add a screen to the game, but force the player to interact with that screen before continuing the game, use call screen ....

Another way to show text (but not permanently leave it on screen) is to use centered. "centered" is a special preassigned character that "speaks" in the middle of the screen rather than in the usual dialogue textbox at the bottom. It doesn't sound like that's what you need - but I'll mention it just in case.
Use it like : centered "Time passes...".